Best starting set? (1 Viewer)

dezzy7

Waiting List
Reaction score
Hey everyone, Reddit brought me here and said it was the best place for advice.

I'm relatively new to poker and have just been using a cheap ~$60 set of slugged chips that you can get off Amazon. I want to invest in a decent set of chips but not one that totally breaks the bank and am looking for tips and suggestions. What characteristics indicate a good chip? Where are some good vendors that ship to Canada?

After a little bit of research it seems like china clay or ceramic would be what I'm looking for in my price range. I had found the Majestic chips from Apache but they seem to have mixed reviews. I was told group buys would probably be the place to get the best bang for my buck. I was wondering where I would navigate to see where all available groups buys on PCF?

Thanks in advance to anyone that takes the time to reply :)

We always recommend getting samples. It’s much better to spend a few bucks getting chips to see what you like and don’t like rather than spending hundreds and being unhappy.

I have a set of majestics from Apache and I love them. They’re a great starter and I don’t regret it at all.

A lot of people recommend Tina’s (the group buys you heard about) since they’re pretty high quality for a low price. Check out some of those threads to see if there’s anything that catches your eye.

Once you found something you like, get samples, and check back here for suggested chipset breakdowns :)

welcome! start here, come back with any more specific questions:

https://www.pokerchipforum.com/threads/new-members-start-here.85303/

I was wondering where I would navigate to see where all available groups buys on PCF?

in general here:

https://www.pokerchipforum.com/#marketplace-vendors.20

and here:

https://www.pokerchipforum.com/forums/group-buys.26/

for the best one i know of now, here:

https://www.pokerchipforum.com/thre...d-cards-mold-textured-no-mold-08-2024.121583/

Last edited: