New member from Riga, Latvia / CLT/CH North Carolina (1 Viewer)

roblewi

Sitting Out
Reaction score
Hey everyone, new member, semi-long-time stalker of PCF here. I'm 20 years old and currently abroad in Riga, Latvia, but I normally reside in Charlotte, North Carolina and specifically go to UNC Chapel Hill. I love playing poker, mostly cash, and I've been hosting games for about six months now. I am joining because I really want to upgrade my chip/card collection and enhance my home games. I currently just run with one of the stock chipsets from Amazon, but I've been particularly interested in getting a better playing set recently. If anyone has any recommendations or anything to say, happy to make some connections :)

Edit: I'm also super interested in looking at various chipsets/cards/tables, etc. Preferably not super high end, but I don't mind dropping a little bit of a pretty penny (although I won't be buying a set of Ojibwa's or anything anytime soon, haha). Please send if you have any cool recs!!

Welcome! You can go as crazy as you can afford when it comes to chips. Most people here recommend buying samples. My suggestion find out what you like and can afford on a college budget then force your friends to play with them they shouldn't care too much. Poker in college for my friends was just an excuse to stay in and drink cheaper than the bars or a strategy to get loaded before the bars then spend the winnings. We only played with dice chips and were none the wiser sorry you found this place so early...

Here's a previous thread where @allforcharity and others helped me greatly figure out a chip breakdown before I jumped in myself. I'm not sure what stakes you guys play for but typically $20-$25 was a friendly casual buy in for our group and still is. Small enough where new players sat down to learn and no one got put in the poor house but high enough to keep your drunk and high friends paying attention to the game.