Shipping Etiquette (1 Viewer)

Timmah

3 of a Kind
Supporter
Reaction score
I was curious about your thoughts on shipping etiquette.

When I sell something on PCF, I package up the item and have a tracking number sent the same day. It gets to the post office the same day or the next day.

I’ve had some experiences where there has been delays in shipping. I get it. Life happens. However, there was great communication from them, and the items shipped with no issues.

I purchased several items from one member a week ago. The seller reached out for payment. I paid within 1 hour of their request. After two days I reached out to seller to confirm payment. Seller said they received it and would ship out the items the next day. It’s now been 7 days since payment and the seller no longer responds to emails even though they’ve logged on several times a day. At what point do you assume you’re not getting your items?

What is your process when buying and selling? What is expected from the seller or buyer during transactions?

My personal standard (not saying it should apply to anyone else) is to provide a tracking number and ship as soon as possible after payment is received and to keep any buyer fully informed of when it will ship if it is not the same day. I then also keep an eye on the tracking and, if there is any delay in scanning or otherwise, I will reach out to assure the buyer of when I dropped it off and let them know that I am keeping an eye on things and will take appropriate action with USPS if it becomes necessary.

My expectation as a buyer is that once I send payment I should have the tracking information within 24 hours unless the seller indicates it will take longer to ship (which if it is, that is fine, but communicating such information should be standard IMO).

Edit*